Chulalongkorn University Theses and Dissertations (Chula ETD)

Other Title (Parallel Title in Other Language of ETD)

Doctorate music composition: the symphonic rhapsody “the spirits of Asean” for chamber orchestra

Year (A.D.)


Document Type


First Advisor

วีรชาติ เปรมานนท์


Faculty of Fine and Applied Arts (คณะศิลปกรรมศาสตร์)

Degree Name


Degree Level


Degree Discipline





ดุษฎีนิพนธ์การประพันธ์เพลง: ซิมโฟนิกแรปโซดี จิตวิญญาณแห่งอาเซียน สำหรับวงเชมเบอร์ออร์เคสตรา เป็นงานสร้างสรรค์ที่แสดงจินตนาการกว้างไกลทางดนตรี มีวัตถุประสงค์เพื่อผสมผสานความงาม เสียงแห่งขนบวัฒนธรรมอาเซียน โดยคัดสรรบทเพลงตัวแทนชาติสมาชิกจำนวน 10 บท มาบูรณาการร่วมกับเอกภาพจังหวะบทเพลงพื้นเมืองพร้อมทั้งการสร้างสรรค์ทำนองสอดสลับและศิลปะการพลิกแพลงสีสันลีลา นับเป็นหัวใจสำคัญในการประสานคุณลักษณะองค์ประกอบดนตรี บทเพลงบรรเลงโดยวงที่มีเครื่องสายเป็นหลัก ประกอบกับเสียงสังเคราะห์ที่เพิ่มสีสันโดย อิเล็กโทน ผลงานอยู่ในคีตลักษณ์แรปโซดี ซึ่งเชื่อมโยงมรดกดนตรีอาเซียนด้วยกลวิธีการประพันธ์ อันหลากหลายโดยมีแนวเดี่ยวไวโอลิน ที่มีการบรรเลงคล้ายการขับร้องนำในเพลงพื้นบ้านและการย้ายโมดไปตามท่วงทำนองลีลา ซึ่งถือเป็นมนต์สะกดของดนตรีอาเซียน ซิมโฟนิกแรปโซดี จิตวิญญาณแห่งอาเซียน สำหรับวงเชมเบอร์ออร์เคสตรา ประกอบด้วย เครื่องสายตะวันตก 15 คน และเครื่องตี ได้แก่ ไซโลโฟน ทิมปานี เครื่องประกอบจังหวะ และแนวเสียงสังเคราะห์โดยอิเล็กโทน บทเพลงมีความยาวทั้งสิ้น 30 นาที

Other Abstract (Other language abstract of ETD)

The Doctorate Music Composition: 'The Spirits of ASEAN', Symphonic Rhapsody for Chamber Orchestra is the large scale creative music composition intended to explore the spectacular beauty of ASEAN cultural and traditional sounds by integrating and blending the ethnic rhythmic formula and the 10 selected tunes in representing each ASEAN member country. In the meantime, the highly imaginative improvising aspect as well as the dramatically transforming techniques have played an active role in order to formalize the intonation of acoustic string instruments and the synthetic sound module of the Stagea model Electone. More importantly, the Asian sound heritage has been shaped within the colorful rhapsodic sectional form whereby the transitions are connected varieties of specific characters following the key modulations. Having been played as an outstanding role, the solo Violin turned the traditional singing melisma and bowed fiddle stylistic into the heart of ASEAN magical highlight. The Spirits of ASEAN, Symphonic Rhapsody is required 15 string players, xylophone, timpani and electone. The composition takes approximately 30 minutes in performing duration.

Included in

Fine Arts Commons



To view the content in your browser, please download Adobe Reader or, alternately,
you may Download the file to your hard drive.

NOTE: The latest versions of Adobe Reader do not support viewing PDF files within Firefox on Mac OS and if you are using a modern (Intel) Mac, there is no official plugin for viewing PDF files within the browser window.