NAKHARA (Journal of Environmental Design and Planning)

Publication Date



Serial cultural heritage is a category of cultural heritage that is characterized by its formation of several cultural heritage sites which have shared meaning and values. The first recognition of serial cultural heritage was part of the World Heritage Convention and its subsequent Operational Guidelines for the Implementation of the World Heritage Convention, 1980. Since that time, cultural heritage series have been nominated and inscribed as World Heritage Sites continuously.In general context, serial cultural heritage has been known and remembered since ancient times. Seven Wonders of the World is an example, although they are not called 'serial cultural heritage'. Apart from this, there are several other cultural heritage series that have prevailed in all cultures of the world, for instance, the 5 Sacred Mountains of China, the Routes of Santiago de Compostela and the Four Buddhist Pilgrimage Sites.As mentioned, serial cultural heritage has always been part of human culture in various aspects, however, despite its values and significance, specific study into this issue has never been conducted. This article, therefore, addresses the concept and other important aspects of serial cultural heritage in World Heritage and general contexts in order to provide better understanding and clarification on the characteristics and roles of serial cultural heritage, which should be useful and applicable to future works in cultural heritage designation, conservation, management, World Heritage nominations, cultural tourism, and other relevant issues

First Page


Last Page




To view the content in your browser, please download Adobe Reader or, alternately,
you may Download the file to your hard drive.

NOTE: The latest versions of Adobe Reader do not support viewing PDF files within Firefox on Mac OS and if you are using a modern (Intel) Mac, there is no official plugin for viewing PDF files within the browser window.