Journal of Urban Culture Research


Woraket Tagosa

Publication Date



The symphonic masterpiece "Sanyalak Haeng Chaichana" (สัญลักษณ์แห่งชัยชนะ - The Emblem of Victory) was composed to honor His Majesty King Bhumibol Adulyadej. It was written as a program symphony for standard symphony orchestra, spanning 35 minutes and is split into four movements: each movement representing each symbol of the Chaipattana Foundation's Emblem and His Majesty's graciousness to the Thai populace. The music also reflects the variety of urban cultures in Thailand, drawing characteristics from various genres of music namely classical, marching band, jazz, and traditional Thai music. The first movement starts off with a fast tempo, representing "Phra Saeng Khan Chaisi" (Chaisi Royal Sword) which is interpreted as "The Power of Land." The second movement is also fast in tempo, representing "Thong Krabi Thut" (Krabi Thut Flag) which refers to "The Cherished Possession of the People." The tempo slows down to a moderately slow pace in the third movement, representing "Dok Bua" (Lotus Blossom) which symbolizes "The Philosophy of the Sufficiency Economy." The tempo picks up to a moderately fast pace in the last movement, representing "Sang" (Royal Conch) which is interpreted as "The Ambrosia - Rain, Salvation for the Earth."



First Page


Last Page




To view the content in your browser, please download Adobe Reader or, alternately,
you may Download the file to your hard drive.

NOTE: The latest versions of Adobe Reader do not support viewing PDF files within Firefox on Mac OS and if you are using a modern (Intel) Mac, there is no official plugin for viewing PDF files within the browser window.